Call for Nominations for the Anatole Abragam Prize for Young Investigators

Anatole Abragam made seminal contributions to both NMR and EPR and was a recipient of the ISMAR Prize and a Fellow of ISMAR. In addition to his superb scientific contributions, fostering people in science was clearly close to his heart. With this in mind, ISMAR has established an award for young investigators that bears the title Anatole Abragam Prize (, sponsored by Bruker Biospin.

Candidates are eligible within seven years of completing their PhD (excluding career delays due to child birth, illness and other special family circumstances). They can be nominated by any regular member or Fellow of ISMAR. After evaluation by the ISMAR Prize Committee, the winner is selected on the basis of evidence of novel and significant contributions to magnetic resonance. Preference will be given to nominees who have made original and independent contributions to experimental or conceptual aspects of magnetic resonance beyond accomplishments attributable to work performed with their research supervisors. The award aims to recognize and foster outstanding young scientists at a typically important point in their career.

The Anatole Abragam Prize is presented during the opening session of ISMAR meetings, as is the case with the ISMAR Prize.

The Anatole Abragam Prize will be awarded at the 20th ISMAR Conference in Québec City, Canada, July 23-28, 2017 (

You are invited to submit nominations by e‐mail to the Secretary General,

Nominations must be received by March 1, 2017 and should include the following documents:

• Nomination letter

• Seconding letter(s)

• Curriculum vitae (including any career delays or extenuating circumstances impacting productivity)

• List of publications and presentations at conferences


We look forward to seeing you in Québec City, in July.

Daniella Goldfarb (President, ISMAR)         

Stephan Grzesiek (Chair, ISMAR Prize Committee)