ISMAR Organization

The objectives of ISMAR are to advance and disseminate knowledge of the principles, recent developments and applications of magnetic resonance in physics, chemistry biology, medicine and other disciplines; to foster scientific interaction among magnetic resonance spectroscopists throughout the world; and to engage in any lawful activities which further these ends.

ISMAR is governed by an elected Council that includes its Executive Committee. It follows the ISMAR Constitution in its proceedings. The Council consists of 20 to 40 members who represent the different subfields of magnetic resonance, while also providing a balanced international, geographic, and gender distribution.

The Council meets in person at least once every two years, normally during major ISMAR meetings, and conducts additional deliberations via electronic media. The Executive Committee conducts the day-to-day affairs of ISMAR and consists of the President, the immediate Past-President, the Vice-President, the Secretary-General, and the Treasurer.

Executive Committee (Officers)


Stephan Grzesiek

University of Basel


Vice President

Tatyana Polenova

University of Delaware

United States

Secretary General

Alexej Jerschow

New York University

United States


Rachel Martin

University of California, Irvine

United States

Past President

Robert Tycko

National Institutes of Health
United States

Web Editors

Tali Scherf (Weizmann Institute)
Alexandra Meng (University of Basel)


Founding Chairman

D. Fiat* (USA)

Members and year of election


  • Enrica Bordignon (Germany)
  • David Bryce (Canada)
  • Marina Carravetta (UK)
  • Mary Chama (Ghana)
  • Galia Debelouchina (USA)
  • Feng Deng (China)
  • Martin Dracinsky (Czechia)
  • Matvey Fedin (Russia)
  • Isabella Felli (Italy)
  • Alexander Forse (UK)
  • Henrike Heise (Germany)
  • Yoshitaka Ishii (Japan)
  • Michal Leskes (Israel)
  • Junxia Lu (China)
  • Oscar Millet (Spain)
  • Gottfried Otting (Australia)
  • Katja Petzold (Sweden)
  • Matthew Rosen (USA)
  • Sharon Ruthstein (Israel)


  • Jan H. Ardenkjaer-Larsen (Denmark)
  • Jerry Chan (Taiwan)
  • Gaël de Paëpe (France)
  • Toshimichi Fujiwara (Japan)
  • Jürgen Haase (Germany)
  • Mei Hong (USA)
  • Igor Koptyug (Russia)
  • Claudio Luchinat (Italy)
  • PK Madhu (India)
  • Michael Sattler (Germany)
  • Ichio Shimada (Japan)
  • Stefan Stoll (USA)
  • Christina Thiele (Germany)

Standing Committees

Prize Committee

  • Daniella Goldfarb (Israel), Chair
  • Lucia Banci (Italy)
  • Gillian Goward (USA)
  • Peter Höfer (Germany) – (Bruker) ex officio Abragam Prize
  • Malcolm Levitt (UK)
  • Kevin Millis (USA) – (Cambridge Isotopes) ex officio ISMAR Prize
  • Peter Van Zijl (USA)


Nominating Committee

  • Marina Bennati (Germany), Chair
  • Jerry Chan (Taiwan)
  • Gaël De Paëpe (France)
  • Henrike Heise (Germany)
  • Michael Sattler (Germany)
  • Ichio Shimada (Japan)
  • Stefan Stoll (USA)


Fellows Committee

  • Bernhard Blümich (Germany), Chair
  • Hashim Al-Hashimi (USA)
  • Songi Han (USA)
  • Guido Pintacuda (France)
  • Frances Separovic (Australia)


Elections committee

  • Warren Warren (USA), Chair
  • Galina Pavlovskaya (UK)
  • Alex Smirnov (USA)


Audit committee

  • Guido Pintacuda (France), Chair
  • Christopher Jaroniec (USA)
  • Songi Han (USA)

Past Presidents of ISMAR

  • Daniel Fiat* (Chairman, 1971-1983)
  • Raymond Andrew* (1984-1986)
  • Charles Slichter* (1987-1989)
  • Ray Freeman (1990-1992)
  • Alex Pines (1993-1995)
  • Maurice Goldman (1996-1998)
  • John Waugh* (1999-2001)
  • Michael Mehring (2002-2004)
  • Ad Bax (2005-2007)
  • Paul Callaghan* (2008-2010)
  • Hans Spiess (2011-2013)
  • Daniella Goldfarb (2014-2017)