Call for Anatole Abragam Prize Nominations 2023

January 9th, 2023 by

Anatole Abragam made seminal contributions to both NMR and EPR and was a recipient of the ISMAR Prize and a Fellow of ISMAR. In addition to making superb scientific contributions, fostering young scientists was close to his heart.  With this in mind, ISMAR awards the “Anatole Abragam Prize” to young scientists at biennial ISMAR conferences (see  Monetary support for this Prize is provided by Bruker Biospin.

The 2023 Anatole Abragam Prize will be awarded at the 23rd ISMAR Conference in Brisbane, Australia, August 20-25 2023. Candidates are eligible within seven years of completing their PhD (excluding career delays due to child birth, illness and other special family circumstances), and can be nominated by any Regular Member or Fellow of ISMAR.  The recipient is selected by the ISMAR Prize Committee on the basis of evidence of novel and significant contributions to magnetic resonance. Preference is given to nominees who have made their own original and independent contributions to experimental or conceptual aspects of magnetic resonance, beyond work performed with their research supervisors. The award aims to recognize and foster outstanding young scientists at an important point in their career.

You are invited to submit nominations by e‐mail to the Secretary General,  Nominations must be received by March 1, 2023 and should include the following documents, assembled into a single pdf file:

• Nomination letter (maximum of two pages)
• At least one seconding letter (maximum of two pages).  No more than two
seconding letters should be submitted.
• Curriculum vitae of the nominee (including any career delays or extenuating
circumstances impacting productivity)
• List of publications and scientific presentations by the nominee

We look forward to seeing you in Brisbane

Alexej Jerschow
Secretary General of ISMAR

2021 – Tuo Wang

August 11th, 2021 by

Dr. Tuo Wang of the Department of Chemistry, Louisiana State University, is a co-winner of the 2021 Anatole Abragam Prize. Dr. Wang was awarded the prize for pioneering applications of solid state NMR and dynamic nuclear polarization in studies of the chemical composition, dynamics, and three-dimensional structures of plant cell walls and related biological materials.

2021 – Alexander Forse

August 11th, 2021 by

Dr. Alexander Forse of the Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge, is a co-winner of the 2021 Anatole Abragam Prize. Dr. Forse was awarded the prize for pioneering applications of NMR spectroscopy to the characterization of new materials for electrochemical energy storage and carbon dioxide capture, motivated by the goal of mitigating adverse climate change.