2018 ISMAR Fellows- Nomination Call

In accord with the ISMAR Constitution, the Fellows Committee (Gil Navon, Bernhard Blümich, Angela Gronenborn, Wolfgang Lubitz, Frances Separovic) solicits nominations for new fellows. The privilege of making a nomination is accorded to all regular members and Fellows.


A list of current Fellows is on our web site at https://www.weizmann.ac.il/ISMAR/ismar-organization#ismar-fellows. Fellows are elected on the basis of their contributions to the field of magnetic resonance, both through the impact of their research on the magnetic resonance community itself and through their efforts to advance the appreciation of magnetic resonance in the broader scientific community. Fellows need not be current members. In the spirit of ISMAR, all branches of magnetic resonance are considered.


In selecting candidates for fellowship from a wide range of nominees, the Committee pays particular attention both to lifetime contributions and to involvement in ISMAR activities (speaking or attendance at previous meetings, service on various committees). The Committee believes that this approach is consistent with the original motivations for creating a class of Fellows, as remarked by Paul Callaghan: “the goal is not to create an additional résumé line, but to recognize people in a way that would strengthen the society." We ask that the nomination statement specifically address both of these sets of contributions.


Nominations remain active for three years after original submission, but updates are welcome. Inquiries about still active nominations should be directed to the ISMAR Secretary General. A template for the nomination can be downloaded from our web site at https://www.weizmann.ac.il/ISMAR/2018-ismar-fellowsnomination-form. All nominations, including updates, must conform to the 2-page limit indicated on this template.


Please submit by e-mail no later than September 15, 2018 to the ISMAR Secretary General – alexej.jerschow@nyu.edu